Beginnings

image158340606.jpgToday I summitted Springer Mountain in the company of buddies Stuart (Concord Bow) and Alec (Sunny). Stuart plans on hiking with me until VA and Alec is in it for the long haul. We pushed farther than expected – 15 miles but we all felt good about it.

Springer Mtn: check
Travel Guitar Jam session: check
Trail Magic: check (cold beer!)
Tired Feet: check

For now,
Bojangle (my new trail name)

Mobile Blogging from here.

3 Responses to Beginnings

  1. Kerry says:

    Preston:
    Good for you you are now one in a million. You ace creating memories that you will never forget, take notes they’ll be important in your later years. I’ll be keeping up with your blog.

    Kerry

  2. John says:

    Preston-
    I can’t believe you beat me to the punch in calling my parents as you are approaching Franklin, NC. You are making much better time on foot than I expected. My Mom is really excited about picking you and your friend/s up on Sunday morning; my Dad regrets that he is out of town. UNC is playing Florida State in the simi-finals of the ACC tournament today. The championship game is tomorrow at 1:00pm, so you can watch it at my parents house or the local bar (yes only one) in Franklin called Mulligan’s. I’ve also mailed my parents a copy of our wedding video that we just got in. You’re definitely in it if you want to see it. I wish you the best in your travels! Have fun!

  3. Sarah Thomson says:

    Bojangle! A great trail name. I recently learned of the related phrase – “gottawannaneedagetthava” – to describe the deep, powerful, undeniable craving one feels for and only for Bojangles (chicken ‘n biscuits). Godspeed and safe travels, my friend. Looking forward to future posts.

Leave a comment