First Post

mecropped1For the past few months I’ve been quietly planning a trip to the mountains…a 6 month trip in fact. On March the 7th my brother Craig and I are going to Springer Mtn in GA to begin a thru-hike attempt of the Appalachian Trail.

For those that aren’t familiar with the Appalachian Trail, it is a 2,200 mile continuous footpath from Georgia to Maine. Completing the trail has been a personal goal of mine for a few years and I’m even more excited to try it with my brother.

Growing up, I’ve always enjoyed hiking and outdoor activity with my family. I first learned of ‘backpacking’ through a UNC new-student orientation trip to the Pisgah National Forest. Slowly growing my interest, I got into long-distance backpacking when I studied abroad in New Zealand, backpacker paradise. My first long-distance trek was the 500 mile Camino de Santiago in Spain which I completed in June and July of 2006. For the past couple years I’ve been eyeing the ‘grand-daddy’ of all trails, the Appalachian Trail, or simply called by it’s hikers, the ‘AT.’

I’ve hiked several sections of the trail already and volunteered the past two summers on work crews for the AT conservancy (the trail was built entirely by volunteers). By all accounts, thru-hiking the entire trail is a physical and mental challenge, albeit a rewarding one. The success rate of completion is very low, but I would certainly regret never trying a thru-hike more so than trying and failing to finish the entire trail.

Barring any injury (or desperation of the magnitude of the walk), Craig and I hope to make it to the trail’s northern terminus in Maine by late August/early Sept timeframe.

A couple friends have expressed interest in joining us and if you have any desire to try the AT, even for a day, I’d love to share a walk and the mountains with you.

Email will be the best way to get in touch with me. I hope to check
it every few days as well as send periodic updates of trail life through this blog.

Cheers,
Preston

p.s. check out www.appalachiantrail.org for more info on the A.T.

Mobile Blogging from here.

6 Responses to First Post

  1. Mom says:

    Hey, I like your intro!

    This does seem like a good way to stay in touch with friends and family.

    But, you will also call your mother, right???

  2. Patty Harms says:

    Your business communication prof is very proud of you! Awesome project to undertake. :) And very good writing, I might add!

    Perry and I may have to join you for a day when you’re in VA area. We hiked a bit on the trail there, and I know Perry (especially) would love to go back. I, of course, would love the chance to check in with you and see how things are going.

    I look forward to following your progress here.

  3. Doug Buzalsky says:

    Hey Preston,

    Thanks for all your help over the last year or so. It was grand working with you. When you make it to Clarke County give me a call (540.955.9444) and maybe we can hook up. Remember when you are walking the AT, if you get chased by a bear you don’t have to outrun the bear. You just have to outrun your companions. :}
    The Force Be With You.

  4. Audrey Brown Dickison says:

    When you make it up North, please call me! I’d love to hop on the trail for a dayhike! My boss has family that lives right off the trail in MA :)
    Best wishes on your trip!

    Audrey
    704-907-3786

  5. Drew says:

    Hey man, can we get an update? Are you on the trail now? If so, the weather is looking good.

  6. Rita says:

    I like this post the best and I have a question Did you call you mom?? haha Great job!

Leave a comment