Hot Springs

image621350559.jpgAhh Hot Springs. R&R! My first ‘zero day’ on the trail. Resting my legs, enjoying some amazing food in town, and watching Carolina advance in the NCAA tournament!

One highlight of the weekend was a visit from my good college buddy Parker from Charlotte. He arrived in Hot Springs Friday night with a Bojangles tailgate special for us. Thanks Parker!

It was great to catch up with him and explore the small town attractions of Hot Springs. Picture above is us at the local historic spa (open since 1800s) enjoying the ‘natural’ hot springs. Actually it was just a jacuzzi by the river and we aren’t really sure if the hot water was natural or just electrically heated. Either way it felt great ;)

Stuart, Alec, and myself plan to ‘slackpack’ tomorrow (hike the trail without packs and hitchike back to town) so we can watch the elite 8 UNC game tomorrow night.

5 Responses to Hot Springs

  1. Christy says:

    My grandma alerted me to an article in the Washington Post today on the A.T. Here is the link….

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/03/27/AR2009032700954.html?sub=AR

  2. Alan says:

    Hey preston,

    Been spreading the word about your blog. Let me know when you come by Winchester and I’ll give you a lift.

  3. Ashley Merrbaugh says:

    Hey! Have you seen Bigfoot or the Yeti yet?!?!?!!!

  4. Jeannette says:

    Hi Preston! I just was reading your blog… I am glad that you are doing well. I just wanted to say hi. :)

  5. Kerry says:

    Peston:
    Great to hear you’re doing well. Remember you only get 50 memories, so stock them away. I admire your courage, and lust for life. I hope you have a hairdryer with you, you know what can happen.

Leave a Reply

